Ryan Adams in Minneapolis

Ryan Adams played a short, hushed 70 minute set last night at the State Theater in Minneapolis. Apparently he was unhappy with the sound quality, and abruptly ended the show sans encore.

The sound wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible. I don't think that I'll be buying a ticket to see the mercurial RA anytime soon.

Makes me appreciate every time that I've seen Wilco even more -- they give 100% every night.

i thought he may have cleaned up his hissy-fits on this tour, but apparently not...

It's too bad that a lot of musicians are flakes.. I'm a musician and I'm a total flake.. ;)

The members of Wilco are really cool and down to earth though.. So I hear..

I don't mean to rain on your parade, because that's a great story but did anyone see him at the State in MPLS last night? I have seen Ryan 6 times and this was by far the worst. 1hr 5mins (no encore), Ryan was completely pissy all night and the music was sub par at best (although that was partly due to the sound). I really hoped that after he stopped drinking his shows would become more consistent. Clearly I was wrong. I won't go too deeply into ripping Ryan but as his ticket prices increase and performance qualities continue to be ever-erratic, its going to be hard to give him anymore of my money. Its even on CNN now:

http://www.cnn.com/2007/SHOWBIZ/Music/09/2...s.ap/index.html

i've seen him in detroit, indy, kalamazoo, ann arbor, louisville, and chicago in the last 1-1/2 years. Nothing but great, great shows. Some longer than others. The one in chicago just would never end. It was amazing. Some shows were before the wrist injury, some after.

I feel sorry for the people of Mpls for the short show, but here's a report from ryanadamsarchive.com and it makes you wonder how could he keep going on if he couldn't hear himself sing or play guitar.